October beauty favourites.

DSCN2201

ModelCo Party Proof Matte Lipstick in ‘Kitty’ – £12

I received this lipstick in last month’s Birchbox and was initially sceptical as I’m really not a fan of pale/nude shades. However, it’s the perfect ‘my lips but better’ colour, and doesn’t draw too much attention to the lips but at the same time doesn’t make them look smaller and narrower as some nude shades can. I’ve worn this every day this month, and am on the hunt for a decent non-strawberry flavoured dupe.

DSCN2205

Dead Sea Spa Magik Spot-on Gel – £7.99

My skin was playing up a bit at the beginning of the month, nothing major but the occasional single blemish that always seemed to appear on the mornings that I least needed it (not that anyone ever needs a spot). I’ve run out of my usual dab-on spot treatment, Lush’s Grease Lightening, but I got send this with a load of other Dead Sea Spa Magik products last month so decided to put it to the test. I was a little concerned at first as the packaging says to apply only a minimal amount to the effected area only, and by the very strong, chemically odour that this product has (I prefer to keep it as natural as possible when it comes to skincare). However by the time I’d gotten home that day my spot had gone from potentially disastruous to almost non-existent. Unlike most spot-on spot treatments that can take a while to work and don’t completely eradicate the spot, this one works super fast and prevents those ‘sore but invisible’ spots from becoming ‘sore but big and red’ spots. You can buy this in Holland & Barratt stores but also on Amazon.

DSCN2203

Soap & Glory Scrubatonic Daily Face Polish – £9.00

I have to say I am loving S&G’s new skincare packaging! It looks so much more professional/expensive, a step away from the Benefit dupe look. As I have quite sensitive skin I tend to avoid exfoliating products, so this isn’t something I’d normally buy. However, I was sent it to try by Soap & Glory and have been really loving it. The product comes out in a light, white cream that disappears upon application, leaving you with tiny invisible exfoliating beads (kind of sandy but not as harsh). The instructions suggest scrubbing it on nose, chin, and forehead, then blending out over your cheeks and jawline. I don’t spend too long scrubbing, and I only use this once or twice a week (the packaging suggests every other day) as I am still a bit sceptical about the whole exfoliating malarky. However, after nearly three weeks of use nothing drastic has happened, and I do feel like my skin has benefited from a little exfoliating action (plus it smells good)!

DSCN2202

Aussie Miracle Recharge Aussome Volume Lightweight Conditioning Spray – £4.49

For some reason I can’t find evidence of this product anywhere online, if I wasn’t sitting here holding a bottle I’d seriously be questioning my sanity. I bought this about 3 weeks ago in my local Boots and yet there is no record of it on the Boots or Aussie websites?! So, if you do happen to see this product I suggest you snap it up quick! I’ve been a long-term user and lover of the ‘Miracle Hair Insurance Leave-In Conditioner’ but when it came to repurchasing I decided to try something a little different. This spray has much the same purpose as Miracle Hair Insurance but is part of Aussie’s Miracle Recharge range, aimed at volumising hair. As I have very long, thick hair, it can be quite hard to give it some oomph without weighing it down. This spray works wonders at giving my roots a bit of lift, and avoiding the dreaded flat 4pm hair. I spray it on generously before drying my hair and give it a good comb through then apply a little each morning to my roots and blow-dry quickly to keep it going throughout the day. It has a nice fresh smell that lingers nicely and doesn’t turn too alcohol-y as some hair products are prone to do.

DSCN2206

Real Techniques Pointed Foundation Brush (Core Collection) – £21.99

I’ve reviewed the Real Techniques Core Collection in a previous monthly favourites post but this month I’ve especially been loving the ‘pointed foundation brush’. I never really used this one before this month as I tend to use the Real Techniques Buffing Brush to apply my foundation, but I’d been having some trouble getting my concealer to blend in well (using my fingers) so decided to give it a go with this. I use the much hyped Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer, which I previously LIKED and now LOVE. I really have noticed a difference in the ease of application, and appearance of my concealer when using this brush, its made me realise how important it is to have the right tools! I’m not sure if you can buy this brush individually but the Real Techniques Core Collection set on a whole is a great investment if you’re looking for high-quality, budget brushes.

DSCN2204

1 Comment

Filed under Beauty

One response to “October beauty favourites.

  1. Pingback: 2013 beauty favourites. | THAT GRACE GIRL

Leave a Reply

